The first pub in Waddington, knowns at The Bonny Bird Inn in the seventeen century, which is said was replaced by the building we see today in 1760. The pub was known as The Roebuck Inn. The pub had stables and a barn for the travellers horse and carts. The barn is now a private house situated over the road.
In 1864 the named changed from The Roebuck Inn to The Lower Buck where is has remained its name ever since.
The Lower Buck is a fabulous example of a stunning country pub with a welcoming traditional atmosphere. A place to cosy up with cask ale next to one of our three fires. Relax with a chilled glass of Rose wine in the private beer garden. Or simply enjoy freshly made in-house food with friends, children or indeed muddy pawed dogs.
Since taking over in December 2016 by a dedicated, local husband and wife team with bundles of experience. The couple have made a few sympathetic tweaks and changes to this beautiful building. Preservation of the wonderful period features have been complimented by some new decoration.
Continuation of real cask ales are a must for this place along with monthly changing guest ales. A new food menu with seasonal dishes, local products and suppliers, and an ever changing specials board. We still have our incredible homemade pies, so please do not panic.
Please come and enjoy our Lancastrian hospitality.
Please call to book a table or
if you get lost.
01200 423 342
The Lower Buck
01200 423 342